@EUEagles Congrats to Dave Darling and Grant Ferguson on earning an All-America Honorable Mention!... http://t.co/bLk6TnHpVM…

@EUEagles RT @marchmadness: #MBBRules Committee proposes reducing shot clock to 30 seconds with eye on increasing…

@EUEagles RT @marchmadness: Here’s everything you need to know about the proposed rule changes in men’s…

@EUEagles RT @NCAAWomensBKB: #WBBRules Committee recommends moving women's games to four-quarter format: http://t.co/T9GV1iRlqx #ncaaW http://t.co/eD……

@EUEagles RT @EasternU: It's finally here! EU's #classof2015 will be filling these seats in just one…

Women's Basketball News & Highlights

February 22, 2013

Nowak Named to Freedom First Team


Meghan Nowak shot 51 from the floor in Eastern's wins this year. Over one stretch in the season, she made 22 consecutive free throws.

ANNVILLE, Pa.- The Middle Atlantic Conference Offices released its Conference Awards for Women's Basketball. Eastern sophomore Meghan Nowak earned a spot on the Freedom Conference First Team for the second straight season.

Nowak, who led the Eagles in scoring and rebounding, helped the team to qualify for the Freedom Conference Tournament for the second time. As the focal point of the Eastern offense, Nowak averaged 16.4 points and 10.4 rebounds a contest. Despite missing significant time with injury this year, she has 925 career points and 493 career rebounds. 

This year, Nowak finished fifth in the league in scoring, second in rebounds, and eighth in blocked shots. She scored a season-high 35 points at Rosemont in a season-opening win. She recorded 12 double-doubles and on four occasions grabbed 15 or more rebounds.

The Eagles fell at top-seeded FDU-Florham in the Freedom Conference Semifinals. Despite being saddled with foul trouble, Nowak made her last eight field goals to finish with 17 points.

Nowak is the first Eastern basketball player to earn 1st team honors in consecutive seasons since Eastern Hall of Honor member Andrea Collesidis earned 3 consecutive First Team All-PAC Honors between 1999-'00 and 2001-'02.

Complete Freedom Team


Updated: Monday, 07 July 2014


Nate Davis

Nate Davis

Coach Davis earned Freedom Conference Coach of the Year Honors in 2011-12.

Spotlight banner